Videos Agriculture Health Business Education Positive Breaking Sports Ansuni Gatha Advertise with Us Catch The Rainnew More


Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar records most wickets in Powerplay in T20I History

by Rishika Choudhury

Date & Time: Jun 28, 2022 11:23 AM

Read Time: 1 minute

In the history of the T20I format, India pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar had the most wickets in the powerplay. On June 26, Bhuvneshwar Kumar achieved this feat during the first T20I against Ireland at Malahide Cricket Club Ground in Dublin.

Completed 34th powerplay wicket in T20I

On the fifth delivery of the innings, Bhuvneshwar Kumar dismissed Ireland captain Andrew Balbirnie, giving him his 34th powerplay wicket in T20Is. With this wicket, the Indian pacer surpassed former West Indian spinner Samuel Badree and New Zealand pacer Tim Southee, both of whom have 33 wickets.

In the first T20I of the two-match series, Team India defeated Ireland by seven wickets thanks to blistering knocks by Deepak Hooda and Hardik Pandya at Malahide Cricket Club Ground on June 26.
With revised conditions, the assigned 20 overs were reduced to 12 per side after heavy rain. The powerplay ranged from one to four overs, with only three bowlers capable of bowling two overs and two bowlers capable of bowling three overs.

Bowlers from Team India

Bhuvneshwar Kumar scalped one wicket and conceded 16 runs in his entire three-over spell. Hooda smashed 47 runs off 29 balls while Hardik played a knock of 24 runs off 12 balls, and helped Team India to chase down the target of 109 runs in just 9.2 overs, with seven wickets in hand.

For Ireland, Craig Young was the pick among the bowlers as he scalped two wickets while Joshua Little settled with one. Earlier in the first innings, Harry Tector's unbeaten 64 guided Ireland to 108/4 against India. While for visitors Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, and Avesh Khan scalped one wicket apiece.

With this win, India have taken a lead by 1-0, in the two-match series and both the teams will be squaring off for the second T20I on June 28.

Also Read: Harmanpreet Kaur Record: हरमनप्रीत कौर ने जीत के साथ तोड़ा मिताली राज का रिकॉर्ड!

You May Also Like


No Comments to show, be the first one to comment!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *