Videos Agriculture Health Business Education Positive Breaking Sports Ansuni Gatha Advertise with Us Catch The Rainnew More


Hima Das beat Dutee Chand with a personal best in 100m at National Inter-State Athletics Championships

by Shailee Mishra

Date & Time: Jun 13, 2022 5:00 PM

Read Time: 2 minute


• Manpreet Kaur, a shot putter, became the first Indian woman to break the 18m barrier
• Murali Sreeshankar set a new meet record in the men's long jump event

Hima Das, a two-time Asian Games gold medalist, won the women's 100m gold medal at the National Inter-State Athletics Championships 2022 in Chennai on June 11, setting a personal best for the second time in two days.

Indian winners

Manpreet Kaur, a women's shot putter, won the event with a throw of 18.06 metres, breaking her own national record of 17.96 metres. The 31-year-old also broke the entry standard for the Commonwealth Games 2022 by becoming the first Indian woman shot putter to hit the 18-meter mark.

Murali Sreeshankar, a Tokyo Olympian, continued his winning streak with an 8.23m long jump, followed by Muhammed Anees Yahiya, who jumped 8.15m.

Hima Das won the 100m final in 11.43s at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, beating Dutee Chand, who finished second in 11.44s.

Dhanalakhsmi Sekar, who ran 11.26s in Turkey last week and is the fastest Indian this season, did not compete in the 100m.

A look throughout the game

Dutee Chand, a Tokyo Olympian who also holds the national 100m record, won the semi-finals on June 10 with a season-best time of 11.40s, while Hima Das finished third in 11.54s.

Srabani Nanda, a two-time Asian bronze medalist, finished third in the final on Saturday with a time of 11.53s after finishing second in the semi-finals.

Hima Das' victory in the 100m sprint will boost his confidence ahead of the Commonwealth Games. Hima Das had a lot of success in the women's 400m races, but due to persistent back injuries, she hasn't been as successful in the shorter sprints.

In the men's 100m final, Amlan Borgohain won in 10.47s, while Harjit Singh, who dominated the semi-finals, finished third in 10.55s.

Meanwhile, in-form quarter-miler Priya Mohan did not compete in the women's 400m final. Kiran Pahal took the win in 52.47 seconds. Kiran Pahal was followed on the podium by Rupal Chaudhary (52.72s) and 
Ramraj Vithya (53.78s).

Amoj Jacob, a Tokyo Olympian, won the men's 400m final in 45.68 seconds, beating Noah Nirmal Tom by 0.76 seconds. Muhammed Anas Yahiya, the current national record holder, did not participate in the race.

Both DP Manu and Rohit Yadav threw the javelin over the 80-meter mark. Rohit Yadav threw four times over 80 metres, including the meet record of 82.45 metres on his first try and 82.54 metres on his fifth try. Manu, on the other hand, set a new meet record with a winning try of 84.35m on his third attempt.


You May Also Like


No Comments to show, be the first one to comment!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *