Videos Agriculture Health Business Education Positive Breaking Sports Ansuni Gatha Advertise with Us Catch The Rainnew More



by admin

Date & Time: Oct 09, 2021 9:00 AM

Read Time: 1 minute

"Freedom of the press is a precious privilege that no country can forego.” Mahatma Gandhi’s this quote justifies the significance of press around the world. The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded every year to those who promote peace and brotherhood around the world. For the contribution of press towards the society, Noble Peace Prize is awarded this year to the journalists of Philippine and Russia. The Nobel Peace Prize 2021 is awarded to the Journalist Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov. This award has been given to them for their struggle for freedom of expression.

Ressa and Muratov

Ressa is a co-founder of Rappler, a digital media company that specialises in investigative journalism. Whereas, Muratov is a co-founder of Novaya Gazeta, Russia's leading independent newspaper.

Representatives of all journalists

The pair were honoured "for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace," said the chairwoman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, Berit Reiss-Andersen.

Freedom of Expression

The winners were announced by the Nobel Selection Committee. The meeting was held at Oslo, Norway. According to the committee, Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov have made significant contributions to the global promotion of free expression. The most important factor for any democracy and peace is freedom of expression, the committee added.

Noble Peace Prize 2020

The World Food Program (WFP) received the Noble Peace Prize in 2020. This programme was considered critical at the time for saving the lives of people suffering from hunger and food scarcity around the world. The World Food Programme (WFP) is the world's largest humanitarian organisation dedicated to fighting hunger. It also works in ensuring food security.

You May Also Like


No Comments to show, be the first one to comment!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *