Videos Agriculture Health Business Education Positive Breaking Sports Ansuni Gatha Advertise with Us Catch The Rainnew More


Jammu and Kashmir to host G-20 summit in 2023

by Rishika Choudhury

Date & Time: Jun 24, 2022 1:00 PM

Read Time: 2 minute

In a major development, Jammu and Kashmir will host the G-20 summits in 2023. The G-20 is a powerful organisation that brings together the world's leading economies. On June 23, the government of the Union Territory established a five-person high level committee for general coordination.

After the former state's special status under Article 370 of the Constitution was revoked and it was split into two union territories in August 2019, this will be the first significant international summit to be hosted in Jammu and Kashmir.

Piyush Goyal will represent India at G20 summit

Piyush Goyal, the Union Minister for Commerce and Industry, was chosen to represent India at the G20 in September 2021. India will assume the G20 chair on December 1, 2022, and will host the first G20 leaders' meeting in 2023, according to the Ministry of External Affairs.

According to an official order issued on June 23, the Union Territory's housing and urban development department principal secretary will be the chairman of the committee which was formed in response to a June 4 communication from the Ministry of External Affairs.

Members included in the committee

Manoj Kumar Dwivedi, principal secretary of the general administration department, issued an order saying, "Sanction is now accorded to the creation of a committee...for overall coordination of G-20 meetings to be held in the Union Territory of J&K." Commissioner Secretary (Transport), Administrative Secretary (Tourism), Administrative Secretary (Hospitality and Protocol) and Administrative Secretary (Culture) are 
members of the committee.

"Further, principal secretary to the government, housing and urban development department is also nominated as UT level nodal officer to coordinate the arrangements for G-20 meetings in the Union Territory of J&K," the order said.

India is member of G20 since 1999

Since 2014, Prime Minister Modi has been in charge of representing India at G20 gatherings. India has been a member of the G20 since its inception in 1999. India will be a member of the G20 Troika (preceding, current, and upcoming G20 Presidencies) from December 1, 2021, through November 30, 2024, according to the MEA.

G20 brings together 19 of the top economies

According to the MEA, the G20 brings together 19 of the top economies in the world along with the European Union. Its members account for more than 80% of the world's GDP, 75% of its commerce, and 60% of its population.

Member nations of G20

G20 member nations are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Also Read: What is I2U2? India, Israel, UAE and US form new grouping, 1st I2U2 Summit in July 2022

You May Also Like


No Comments to show, be the first one to comment!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *