Videos Agriculture Health Business Education Positive Breaking Sports Ansuni Gatha Advertise with Us Catch The Rainnew More


Indian-origin UK minister won first ever Queen Elizabeth II award

by Rishika Choudhury

Date & Time: Sep 27, 2022 10:00 AM

Read Time: 2 minute

Suella Braverman, Britain's Indian-origin Home Secretary, was named the first-ever Queen Elizabeth II Woman of the Year at a ceremony in London.

The 42-year-old barrister, who was appointed to the Cabinet by British Prime Minister Liz Truss earlier this month, said it was the "honour of her life" to take on the new role at the Asian Achievers Awards (AAA) 2022 ceremony, dedicated to the late monarch who passed away recently.

Braverman, the daughter of Tamil mother Uma and Goan-origin father Christie Fernandes, sent a recorded message to the ceremony, where her parents accepted the award on her behalf.

“My mum and dad came to this country from Kenya and Mauritius in the 1960s,” said Braverman in her message.

“They’ve been proud members of our Asian community and I was born in Wembley, the heart of the Asian community, and to be elected to serve in the UK Parliament and now to serve our phenomenal and amazing and welcoming country as Home Secretary is the honour of my life. I hope to do you proud,” she said.

The awards, now in their 20th year, honour individuals from across Britain's South Asian community through public nominations.

Other Indian-origin winners

Other Indian-origin winners included broadcaster Naga Munchetty in the media category, Namit Malhotra, chairman and CEO of celebrated visual effects firm DNEG, in the Arts and Culture category, and Captain Harpreet Chandi in the Uniformed and Civil Service category for her solo Antarctic expedition to the South Pole earlier this year.

Professor Sir Shankar Balasubramanian was named Professional of the Year for his groundbreaking DNA sequencing discovery, while Karenjeet Kaur Bains was named Sports Personality of the Year for being the first female Sikh powerlifter to represent Britain on the international stage.

Sherry Vaswani, CEO of IT services firm Xalient, won Entrepreneur of the Year and restaurateur brothers Shamil and Kavi Thakrar were named Business Persons of the Year as the founders of the successful Dishoom chain of restaurants. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Kartar Lalvani, the founder of the UK's well-known health supplements brand Vitabiotics.

“The AAA will continue to be the platform to identify, recognise and support the innovators, visionaries and community giants that will build Britain and make the world a better place,” said Pratik Dattani, Managing Director of EPG the global advisory firm behind the awards founded in 2000 by Asian Business Publications Limited (ABPL).

According to the organisers, more than 500 nominations were received across the 10 categories, which were then shortlisted by judges and evenly divided between male and female candidates.

Former Deputy Assistant Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police Bas Javid, former president of the Royal College of General Practitioners Mayur Lakhani, Monzo Bank COO Sujata Bhatia, music producer Bally Sagoo, Welsh Assembly Member Natasha Asghar, and Darbar Festival Artistic Director Sandeep Virdee were among the judges.

A charity auction hosted by celebrated author Lord Jeffery Archer raised approximately 100,000 pounds for the educational non-profit organisation Pardada Pardadi, which focuses on girls' education in India.

Also Read: Saree made of Recycled Plastics to mark Queen's Platinum Jubilee

You May Also Like


No Comments to show, be the first one to comment!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *