Videos Agriculture Health Business Education Positive Breaking Sports Ansuni Gatha Advertise with Us Catch The Rainnew More


Bengal Bags Prestigious Award for Best Destination for Culture

by Rishika Choudhury

Date & Time: Sep 07, 2022 11:00 PM

Read Time: 1 minute

In the internationally acclaimed World Travel Awards, Bengal was named the best cultural destination. The award will be presented in Berlin next year.

Announcing the receipt of the award, chief minister Mamata Banerjee wrote in Twitter: "I am proud to announce that Pacific Area Travel Writers Association, an affiliate of the UN World Tourism Organisation, will confer Bengal with the International Travel Award 2023, for best destination for culture. Bengal has made its mark in the global cultural map. The award will be conferred in Berlin, at the World Tourism and Aviation Leaders' Summit on March 9, 2023. I congratulate all residents of Bengal on this momentous occasion."

Pacific Area Travel Writers Association

The Pacific Area Travel Writers Association (PATWA) is a professional travel writing organisation that was founded in 1998. It collaborates with both the public and private sectors to promote sustainable growth and improve the quality of travel and tourism.

PATWA adheres to the fundamental principles of UNESCO, the United Nations, and the World Tourism Organization and presents a slew of awards each year at the world's largest travel and trade fair. This year, Cuba was named the top cultural destination.

A jury comprising PATWA members, officials and travellers judge the shortlisted names that meet the necessary criteria. The nominees are evaluated on various standards with an extensive audit.

Kolkata's Durga Puja has been listed on the UNESCO Intangible Heritage List last year. "It is of great honour that our state has bagged back-to-back international acclaim banking on our deep rooted cultural 
heritage," said Sandipan Banerjee, vice-president of the Forum for Durgotsab.

Also Read: Former National Team Goalkeeper, Kalyan Chaubey become 1st player to be elected as AIFF President

You May Also Like


No Comments to show, be the first one to comment!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *